The First Amendment

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

Dedication to the protection of the First Amendment freedoms is not accomplished in a day’s work, but rather a lifetime. Recognizing the efforts taken to preserve free speech and press, the Nackey S. Loeb School of Communications established the First Amendment Award in 2003. The award honors New Hampshire residents who exemplify freedoms granted in the First Amendment. From a lawyer’s closing remarks, to a professor’s lecture, to concerned citizens participation in town governance, New Hampshire residents uphold First Amendment liberties daily. These freedoms are crucial to a successful Democracy. This belief guided Nackey Loeb throughout her life and her career in the newspaper business. The Nackey S. Loeb School is committed to preserving these freedoms. Each year, a distinguished group of judges reviews First Amendment nominees submitted by the public to choose the recipient, who is honored at the annual Nackey S. Loeb First Amendment Awards Event.

Distinguished Recipients and Honorees


2019 – The late Dr. William ‘Ed’ Kois, VA whistle blower.

2018 –  Robert Azzi, columnist, speaker, Muslim-American advocate for civility

2017 – Right to Know NH, led by President David Saad

2016 – The late David Pearl, Advocate for the Right to Know Law and Donna Green, Timberlane Regional School Board Member
2015 – Former Portsmouth Police Officer John Connors
2014 – The late James Foley, journalist murdered by terrorists
2013 – The Nashua Telegraph
2012 – David Lang and the Professional Fire Fighters of New Hampshire
2011 – The Portsmouth Herald
2010 – Gail Pierson Cromwell, ConVal School Board member
2009 – William Chapman, Attorney, Orr & Reno Professional Association
2008 – Mary Lukas, Media Advisor, Londonderry High School
2007 – David Scott, Dover City Councilor
2006 – The Citizen
2005 – Daniel Hughes, NH State Representative
2004 – Thomas F. Kearney, Executive Editor, Keene Sentinel
2003 – Philip T. McLaughlin, Esq., former NH Attorney General


2007 – Sharon Craigie, Citizen Activist, Littleton, NH
2006 – Marshall Cobleigh, Political Activist, Manchester, NH
2005 – Ingrid Bird, Candia School Board
Blake Douglass, Londonderry High School
2004 – Arnie Arnesen, The Arnie Arnesen Show
William Chapman, Attorney, Orr & Reno Professional Association
John D. Hutson, Dean, Franklin Pierce Law Center
Grace Sullivan, Ph.D., Manchester Community Television

2003 – Albertine Morrissette, Bedford, NH
The Little Green Newspaper, Manchester Central High School
Mike Pride, Executive Editor, The Concord Monitor
Patrice Scott, Attorney, Plymouth, NH

Quill & Ink Award

2019 – David Tirrell-Wysocki – Retired Executive Director – Nackey S. Loeb School of Communications

2017 – Attorney Gregory V. Sullivan
2016 – Claire Ebel, Former head of the NH Civil Liberties Union
2015 – Laconia Circuit Court Judge James M. Carroll
2012 – Debra Clark Valentine, YMCA of Greater Manchester
2009 – Robert Foster, Late Publisher, Foster’s Daily Democrat
2008 – Mike Pride, Retired Executive Editor, The Concord Monitor